Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Right now my cousin is deciding to put the turbo mentioned in his R34. I just want to ask with this turbo alone and a 100 wet shot of nos, can 1000 crank shaft HP be achieved. I'm a newbie regarding forced induction so I'm asking you gurus here.

·
Registered
1,069 Posts
The T51-R SPL is capable of producing 1000hp without NitrousOxide. The T51-R KAI which is the same turbocharger, same compressor housing with a smaller compressor wheel is capable of 800hp. But just because the turbocharger can, doesn't mean the engine will. To achieve that much power in any automotive engine, will require internal strengthening, increased flow, etc...

-Sensei;)

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanx alot. I'm sure his engine will be able to handle it coz he's already modded the hell out of it. Right now it's using a t-78 turbo from Trust and the reason he wants to change to the SPL is because he doesn't really like his t-78. He's always biased towards HKS.

Anyway thanx alot.

·
Registered
904 Posts
Miura said:
Thanx alot. I'm sure his engine will be able to handle it coz he's already modded the hell out of it. Right now it's using a t-78 turbo from Trust and the reason he wants to change to the SPL is because he doesn't really like his t-78. He's always biased towards HKS.

Anyway thanx alot.
Can you be a little more specific. What complaints does he have with the T78? How much difference in lag are we looking at regarding these two turbos? Just curious, I am mostly sold on the T78 kit but I also love HKS"s quality ( manifold, wastegate ). :D

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I really don't know much but as far as I know he's simply more into the HKS turbo. Also the HKS turbo will be significantly laggier than the t78.

·
42mpg @ 16k RPM
221 Posts