Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
my sup just develop a rod knock... its not loud but its notisable...

anyways how much willit cost to fix this? and can i doit my self?(some mechanical experrience)

but i can get my friends dad to helpme if its that big..

thanks

also i notice that when im in gear and i letgoof the gas pedal andstep on it again i hear a pop... im guesing backfire? how do i fix this to?

·
Ex MKIV Owner
329 Posts
I'm no expert but rodknock is very expensive to fix...I'm guessing buying a new engine would probably be cheaper.

·
Registered
454 Posts
If you haven't damaged the crank journal or rod you can change the bearings with the motor still in the car, just pull the pan.

·
No One Ever Listens To Me
5,467 Posts
Clifton said:
If you haven't damaged the crank journal or rod you can change the bearings with the motor still in the car, just pull the pan.

i dont know what the rest of you are assuming...but this guy is on the right track...

expense of fixing rodknock is relative to how bad it is...

for example i had as light rod knock and immediately had the car towed to where i could pull the engine and check it out... a simple $200 later ($100 in bearings, $25 to polish crank, $75 misc fluids and gaskets etc..) and my car was good to go again....

your best bet is to pull the engine and check out the damage....i wouldnt suggest trying to drop the pan because frankly its a billion times easier to just pull the engine out....

·
Registered
6,907 Posts
you can, but the subframe has to come out, and you have to use a cherry picker to support the engine anyway (since the engine mounts are on the subframe)

·
My name's Scruffy.
1,566 Posts
it might not even be worth fixing. depending how loud it is and everything...i'd say just get a new motor

·
Escaped from infinite lag
1,103 Posts