Supra Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I can't seem to buy a MKIV!!!Help!!

Supra owners........
I'm still learning alot here which is awesome. I just let that 94 White TT in Raliegh NC on Autotrader slip thru my fingers. This is the 3rd one I lost. What happens is this.........
I usually find a car I like out of state. Coming from a Rotary engine state of mind, I want to get the engine compression tested before I buy. While I'm trying to arrange this, someone comes along and buys the car even before the paperwork begins. I'm sick of this, but I see alot of Supra owners mange to get this test performed. How do I do this? Maybe it's becaue it's a dealer car and there's no time? They all have been so far. I'm scared to go private due to lack of warranty. How do you guys get your cars or is this test not important. BTW, it had 27,931 on the odometer.
I got them down to 26K but the person that got it paid 28K so they said. And I was going to give a deposit but they said I can't unless we agree on a price for the car ahead of time. I really didn't want to agree on a price sight unseen so I guess I'm looking for advice. Help this newbie out! Oh, and I'm not trading in my RX........

·
Registered
332 Posts
I just did a compression test and it's really easy. It took me about 45 minutes start to finish(first time I have done this)and replaced the spark plugs. Any dealer that is serious with you buying the car or a private individual should be able to show you compression test with it being so easy. Just remeber you want all the cylinders wihtin 14psi of each other and 128psi is the lowest value(per the engine manual) they should go.

-TY

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks......