Supra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got my tranny pulled on my na right now because the clutch went out. I have resurfaced flywheel, a new pilot bearing, throwout bearing and pressure plate. I've never done this before and could someone help me out with pics etc..?

·
Registered
1,141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I don't have any of the special tools to replace the pilot bearing etc...is there any other way to replace it? Also I'm a total newb at installing a clutch. I don't know what side the clutch disk goes on the flywheel. And about greasing the parts...what's the clutch disk spline and all the little contant points of the clutch fork.

·
Registered
2,138 Posts
special service tools....u dont need em...

i take out the pilot bearings using a J bolt that fits in the center with a vice grip at the end of it...then using a hammer I knock it out. The pilot and thrust bearings are self lubed...i would put a little grease on the inputshaft so the bearing slides easily.

·
Registered
1,141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
well. So if i'm doing this all by myself. How exactly do i get the tranny back in and bolt up while i'm still holding the tranny in position. It sounds like a total PITA to do!

·
Registered
288 Posts
You can use a floor jack. My friend lent me a floor-tranny jack thats pretty much a floor jack but with a wider contact area. Depending on your floor jack you could use a piece of wood to make it more stable.

·
Registered
1,141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I'm scared that i'm going to mess something up. I've never messed with the clutch before so i don't think i'm going to install it. I'll have my tech friend help me. We pull the whole clutch/flywheel assembly out...Now we have to put it back together.

G

·