Supra Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
346 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
For anyone who is planning on going single, the removal of the stock twins isn't that difficult. I have little experience with cars(this is the first one that I've done any real work on), and I removed them by myself in about 8-10 hours total. Most of this was done in the dark with a flashlight. The majority of the time was spent just figuring out what combination of extensions and adapters to use to remove the nuts and bolts in the hard to reach places. I didn't receive any hand or knuckle injuries either!! Only head injuries were received. :rolleyes: I dropped my 1/2 ratchet on my head when I was under the car, then I got a cut on my forehead when I smacked it on a jackstand.
All that you need to remove the stock turbos are jackstands, pb blaster, a full socket set(1/4", 1/2", 3/8"), lots of extensions, and those hinge things(wobblies?) for the sockets, a 14mm straight wrench, and a pipe to use as a breaker bar. I also used a sawzaw to cut one of the old oil lines, but that's not necessary. I went the route of removing the turbos and exhaust manifold as a whole.
I just wanted to post this for anyone who is considering removing their twins themself, or in the case that anyone does a search on turbo removal and has a question. Feel free to pm me.
Tony

·
Registered
1,421 Posts
I spent 3 hours trying to get the damned top EGC bolt off. My girlfriend came home and hit a wrench from the top while I held it on the nut from the bottom. The thing came off right away. My suggestion would be to have an extra hand for the EGC. The rest really isn't that bad at all.

·
Exclusive 1000+ Post Club
3,488 Posts
VeilsideTT said: