Supra Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
got boost???
1,362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
alrite i'm going to install two more gauges in my car both are elctrical type....i know i'll need for both: engine ground, sending unit, ignition source, ignition swithc, and a power and ground for the light.....

i alrady have a EBC, boost guage mounted on the car...the gauges will be placed where the ash tray is...when i installed my EBC i tapped into a unused fuse in the kickpanel fusebox....if i remember correctly behind the dash i don't tihnk there were anymore ignition source....is possible to run two wires for IGN source to the fusebox? if i can how will i be able to do it? also i need to run two wires thru the firewall for engine ground...will i be able to connect them after the guages together and just run one wire for the ground? i'm an electrical noob :sadwavey: so if anyone can help...the would be great :bigthumb:

·
Search
3,305 Posts
engine ground and chassis ground are the same, that's why you have a great big cable going from your block to your chassis :)

what gauges are you installing?

·
Search
3,305 Posts
what you'll need generally...

accessory power (can be found at the fusebox, or ignition harness)
ground (chassis)
switched light power (to make the gauges light up with your lights)

and signal input (duh:))

·
1991 1JZ
1,157 Posts
also i need to run two wires thru the firewall for engine ground...will i be able to connect them after the guages together and just run one wire for the ground? i'm an electrical noob so if anyone can help...the would be great
oh boy.

you can use any ground (test it with a multimeter to be sure) in the COCKPIT. you dont need to drill any holes in the firewall for any electrical source.

·
got boost???
1,362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
justin i'm installing autometer oil pressure, and water temp....