Supra Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Like butter on toast...
235 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ive raced my friend in his integra GSR which has headers, intake, and exhaust in my 90 turbo that has only intake. Im getting a 3" turbo back exhaust and an electronic boost controller, which ill probably set around 10psi. as it is, w/ just the intake, he BARELY beats me off the line and cant beat me on top end performance. he thinks if i get 18" rims, that'll slow me down enough for him to beat me. do rims really make that much of a difference?

·
fbody to supra to fbody
2,015 Posts
the only drawback i can think of for bigger rims is more weight. i myself am not that familiar with weights of wheels (in terms of stock and other brands and normal weights for 18") but also, wider tires on those 18" rims could give you better grip off the line. then again, i am NOT an expert at this stuff. anyone care to confirm and/or correct me? thanks.

-J

·
Moderator, megalos ntabatzis!!
4,409 Posts
the wider your tires, the more grip you get, but more the contact is made, therefore requiring more power, as for bigger diametre, i dont see why it would matter? Nonetheless there is nowhere near a significant difference that would make you lose!

·
Senior
1,475 Posts
Sport Compact Car did dyno a Civic with 17' wheels & compared it to a smaller (lighter) size. The result? The greater rotational mass from the cooler looking wheels resulted in a horsepower drop! The again could a Civic really stand much more of a load? Ever see one tow a boat?:rolleyes:

C

·
0 Posts
well if your getting bling blingin chrome 20's i can see that it might make a difference, but you can get some lightweight 18's, or ones that at least weigh the same amount as the stock MKIII rims.

c'mon, the MKIII rims are like 95% solid, if you got some 6 spoke 18's they would prolly be the same weight.

And i dont think it would matter enough for you to lose to a GSR

M

·
0 Posts
Don't know if this helps any...