Supra Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

Registered
86 Toyota Supra N/A
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello Supra people,
I just bought a 86 N/A automatic Supra (7M) with 85k miles on it. This is my first time ever owning a Supra, and I was wondering what things I should do to the car to make it reliable and look good. The previous owner took good care of the car, and apparently "resealed the head gasket". (I checked the oil and it is not frothy). Car costed me $2300, but it needs a cat for Smog. Thank you!

Registered
Nice car! Shame it didn't come with a spoiler. I'd recommend going over your vacuum lines very carefully. The 7M-GE is a very reliable engine but can be VERY temperamental if it has any vacuum leaks. Looks like yours was a little more well taken care of than mine though 馃槄

Registered
Paint looks beautiful, looks like you got a good car for a really good price. First things I would do would be flush out all those fluids. Brake fluid looks like mud in the pic, should be near transparent. Flush the trans fluid, do an engine oil system cleaning(clean out all the oil passage ways that could have potential sludge deposits due to the engine being old). Probably swap out the rear diff oil and flush the power steering fluid as they are very likely to be the original toyota fluid...old as dirt. Then I'd run a throttle body and injector cleaner through the engine (the DIY version is basically using seafoam, but a local shop can do a professional version)to clean off all the carbon deposits off the intake valves, injector nozzles, pistons, blah blah blah. After that, replace the spark plugs, wires, those leaking valve cover gaskets, dizzy cap and rotor. Would also be a good idea to smoke test the intake to see if you have any vacuum leaks caused by old brittle hoses that would cause engine performance issues.
I'm sorry to see you live in California. Here in Nebraska, everyone just runs straight pipes and laugh when someone mentions emissions testing.

Registered