Supra Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
i'm a bauce
1,289 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys just picked up a 2004 auto IS300. I’m using it to daily right now but it’s underpowered. I’ve been building N54 BMW cars for the last ten years so I’m missing boost. I need help deciding 1jz swap or NA-T this IS. I’ve read the is ecu is a pain to tune with piggybacks even at a moderate 6-9 psi. The 1jz really appeals to me as it’s 100% drop in but I’m needing a detailed write up to follow for the wiring. Has anyone here done it and can you help me out.

·
Super Moderator
9,943 Posts
The problem is the OBD-II stock ECU, and the CAN bus for the gauge cluster. Short of getting incredibly complicated with an OBD-II 2JZ-GTE swap ran in parallel with the stock ECU and all the sensors/etc needed to keep a stock OBD-II ECU happy, there's no way to add boost without getting rid of OBD-II compliance and/or living a neverending CEL life.

So long as you don't need OBD-II compliance, there's a lot of folks that have NA-T'd them or done all flavors of GTE swaps, and lots of writeups over at my.is
Personally I'd go with a simple NA-T kit for ~300-350whp and run a Haltech or similar modern ECU off of a wedge harness to keep the stock ECU for the gauge cluster and HVAC, and depending on your ECU, the VVTi functionality. OBD-II compliance goes out the window no matter what, though.

Alternatively, LS or Honda K motors both can be swapped in and OBD-II functionality hacked into functioning, and either of those engines with boost and an MT behind it would be a good match for the IS300 chassis. Sucks that it's such a bitch to keep it JZ, but that's the way it is sadly.

·
i'm a bauce
1,289 Posts
Discussion Starter #5