Supra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Brand new member. I've been thinking about buying a classic car for some time and I've spotted this really good looking Toyota Supra MK3. The car salesman says there's only one little problem... it's leaking a little bit transmission fluid in the back.

Looking at the pictures it doesn't look like transmission fluid. Seems to be exactly the color of engine oil... but it's not making sense to me.

What's your opinion guys? Is this still a buy? Or should I steer away from it? It's a pity because from what's available at the moment, it's my favorite (in terms of color, interior, model, engine, etc.).

PS: This would not be my daily driver, and I'm happy to try and do some repairs/upgrades myself, even if I'm a bit of a noob in mechanics.

Thanks so much,
Bruno

Tire Wheel Vehicle Car Automotive tire

Wheel Tire Land vehicle Automotive tire Motor vehicle

· Registered
346 Posts
That looks like its coming from the differential's front seal. If that's all that's wrong it wouldn't stop me at all. Just budget some repair money unless you can do it yourself. Undercar looks pretty good as these go. No rust or bent parts. Even the exhaust looks good.

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That's the differential, fixing that leak shouldn't be much of a problem
That looks like its coming from the differential's front seal. If that's all that's wrong it wouldn't stop me at all.
Hi both!

Thanks so much for your replies, much appreciated.

Forgive me for picking your brain with a couple more 😊

The car is located a couple thousand kilometers away (almost a 20 hour trip). Would you feel comfortable traveling with such a leak for such a long way? Is it easy to check for the differential oil level and health along the way, or would I be better off dropping the car at a local Toyota leadership and have that checked and repaired before driving it back home?