Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the title states, I'm creating this thread to cover the topic of swapping a 6 speed CD009 from a G35/350Z, into our MKIV's. There seems to be limited information on the Forum about this swap. Unfortunately, I missed out on buying a V160 before they were discontinued and jumped in price. I'm going to outline the basics of the swap, feel free to correct me / add insight if you would like.

I'm going to start with saying this transmission IS NOT equivalent to a V160. If you have the funds, swapping a V160 is by far the best route.
W58<R154<CD009<T56<V160... In my opinion...

For the people who don't have those funds, but still want to make 800RWHP, this is a good option. They handle high torque loads very well. I'm an apprentice technician with Toyota (severely underpaid) so personally, this is a good route for me.

Whats needed - Prices are approximate
-CD009 6MT FS6R31A - $500 USD - Nissan did a very bad job at classifying which transmission was which. For example, the CD001 looks identical to the CD009. The transmissions prior to the 009 were weaker. There's a few internal differences, but my understanding is the biggest difference were in the synchros. A quick google search will reveal that Nissan had big issues with blown trannies (giggle) and many were replaced under warranty. Do your due-diligence before you buy what you THINK is a 009 revision. Supposedly, Nissan sorted out their issues by model year '06. So get an '06 and you're likely in the clear. I will copy and paste the synchro differences to the bottom of the thread.

Adaptor kits - Price these out yourself with the clutch setup you want.
You've got a couple choices here.
- Collins Adaptors adaptor PLATE. Traditional adaptation method with a plate between the trans and motor.