Supra Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts
D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In my #4 and #5 cylinders my compression is ~ 130 psi the rest are ~150. Why are these cylinders so low? Is motor f*cked?

Chris

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
possibly the cylinder walls are screwed up because the car was running overly rich or detinating. You might need new rings? You might need new pistons, there could be a hairline crack in the ringland of the piston, who knows. How was the compression test ran?

i dont think that you would be able to tell what was wrong with your car just by a compressin test, you would need a mechanic to check things out.

But im no expert, so I might be wrong.

Z

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
no matter what condition your compression was tested under, the difference between each cylinder compression should be less than 15psi I think..check the manual again.
once you find out you have a low compression, it could be alot of things, but unless you have money and ready to do repair, dont even bother trying to guess what could be wrong IMO.
these compression #s are not the worst I've seen, you probably dont have a 430wrhp+ strong BPU, but the car should still pull pretty good into 360-380WRHP depending on the overall condition of your car.

I know its hard to get that # out of your head, but try not to freak out...you still OWN a supra, repair can be made anytime.

good luck

Jonas

D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Zerosoul said:
no matter what condition your compression was tested under, the difference between each cylinder compression should be less than 15psi I think..check the manual again.
once you find out you have a low compression, it could be alot of things, but unless you have money and ready to do repair, dont even bother trying to guess what could be wrong IMO.