Supra Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
482 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought it for only 400$ while it was being rebuilt, it sat there for 4 years, and i finished the job and it wont start, has new gaskets for everything, new timing belt, checked the timing,, when i crank it, all it does is spin, no back fire or nothing, if i spray quick start into the throttle body it runs for a couple seconds, so the timing is right and it has spark, so i think its fuel related. When i turn the key to on i don't hear the fuel pump, am i supposed to hear it? The tank was full of junk and i drained it, but never inspected the pump and filter, so is that my problem? I'm new to the supra world so any help or advice is appreciated THx for reading

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
Change your fuel filter and put some fresh gas in there...also you are suppose to hear the fuel pump if you listen carefully....also make sure your spark plugs are rightly gapped and also the cables and coil pack are good

·
Registered
482 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok I had already put fresh gas in it, the plugs are brand new and i gaped them all, also i checked the ignition cables and they are all like new, no rust or corrosion in them at all, tomarrow i will drop the tank and get a fuel filter and test the pump thx, the pump and filter is above the tank right?

·
Registered
894 Posts
yea well i had/have that same prob wit my n/a auto but dnt get frustrated and rip the lines like i did.... lol but yea chek ur filter and i would change the pump also jst so u kno thats one less thing u have to worry bout goin out wen u n a parkin lot and wonderin y its not statn again. but gud luck

·
A Happy Dad
2,321 Posts
check for the obvious first: codes, mice, grounds, cps install in that order.
you should be able to check for fuel real easy, disconnect it at the throttle body and have someone crank it while you see how fast it fills a coke bottle. that will also show you how clean it is