Supra Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Banned
455 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I bought the car ravaged (93 Supra TT) and I've since put together a Mini computer and will connect it to a 7" touchscreen.
My question is what are some good component speakers that will go into the stock locations ?
I'm a musician so quality is VERY important to me.
I listen mostly to my own stuff (fast metal type of music) cause I'm sick of most of what's out there so I want a setup that's going to let the double bass shine through but also be able to hear all the keyboards and intricate things that are in the music.
I know practically nothing about "car" stereo setups so if someone has the knowlege to share with me I appreciate it.

Also looking to spend less than $450 for all the speakers and stuff.
I'll do the installs myself.:agreed:

·
Supra-NA-T...Girls -Twin
2,165 Posts
Boston Z's and Focal Utopia's are my fav. Boston is the ONLY company that test and base all their specs of of thei speakers installed in a vehicle, not a test room. They also use a tuned port in front the the aluminum tweeter to eliminate the resonating frequency of aluminom...focal uses an inverted dome tweeter, but you also loose frequencies you want to hear that way.

I love my focals, but Boston's are eqaully amazing. Whatever you do, listen to them first

·
Banned
455 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Okay I'll go listen to the Boston Z's.
Are the sized 6.5 fronts ? and 7.5 rear ?

·
I'm in the Death Business
1,924 Posts
stock is 4" front & 6.5" rear

you can easily go to a 6.5" front and rear.

I second the Focals :) Utopia line is pretty bitchin if you can get your hands on them (I'll sell ya a couple pairs cheap ;)), but so are the K2Ps (which are what officially took over for the older Utopa line)

·
Supra-NA-T...Girls -Twin
2,165 Posts
Thanks for the call out on the utopia ;) i havent had the focal line in our store for 4 years or so.

There are 2 sets of boston Z's....old an new

BOSZ6 - old