Supra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok guys as you can See by the topic name I am new to owning a Supra. My best Freind decided after some long hard thinking and a nice monitary offering to sell me His supra. I have loved this car since he bought it. And the day he killed it was a sad day for us both. He now has a 92 MR2 turbo so i offerd Him 800 for the supra and he said "oh cool i needed that for a new turbo". So now i have a 88 Supra Turbo Targa In need of some SERIOUS attn. My first beef is the engine, Im positive that its a BHG all the signs are their but the engine also has about 120k miles on it. The question im really asking myself is Should i just buy another 7mgte and swap it or try to have this one rebuilt. My knowledge on engines is very slim So i would havta Find someone local that could rebuild this engine, And that wouldent be to easy as i live in some what a back-water area. So swap or not? Price wise im not sure witch one would be better as i am working with somewhat of a budget . Thanx ~Uplink

·
Akai Suisei - 赤い彗星
10,376 Posts
If you bought another used engine, it would be advisable to do an MHG job on it anyway while you can. So as long as everything else in your current engine is fine, just put a MHG on that one and be done with it.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I thought of that as well but thier could be other problems Started by the BHG as he put off changing it till it finaly blew, I also know that the engine has a metal head gasket already but the original owner Reused the stock headbolts so it blew, So im simi afriad that the head maybe warped due to longterm overheating

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Also i should note the final compression test we did we got 120 for the #1 and 40 for the #6

·
Registered
6,803 Posts
bhg for sure

might have possible ring problems.

at 120k the engine is actually still relatively new but a rebuild is always a good thing :)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·