Supra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 70 Posts

· Lag > Boost
268 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still a Newb, and need some info on single Turbo's. If a person doesn't care about the Turbo lag, and he just wants a raw, powerfull Turbo that makes killer power, what size should he be looking for?

Also, would having a larger Turbo make more power at a certain boost level (call it 18#'s of boost for example) compared to a smaller Turbo at the same boost level, given the rest of the mods on the car are the same?

· Registered
3,519 Posts
I am still a Newb, and need some info on single Turbo's. If a person doesn't care about the Turbo lag, and he just wants a raw, powerfull Turbo that makes killer power, what size should he be looking for?

Also, would having a larger Turbo make more power at a certain boost level (call it 18#'s of boost for example) compared to a smaller Turbo at the same boost level, given the rest of the mods on the car are the same?
GT4788R (most commonly used I guess) of course there is bigger. Of course we are talking built motor, full standalone, cams, full fuel.

Yes a bigger turbo will usually make more power given the same mods

· Lag > Boost
268 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I definatly understand the need for a fully upgraded fuel system, and I can also understand the standalone, cams would also be done as well, but I didn't know the motor would need to be "built" for it.

What specifically is the weak spot? What needs to be changed to handle a Turbo of that size? I guess I am used to seeing stock short blocks handle a shload of power without changing anything.

· Lag > Boost
268 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The other key thing for me is getting the max WHP on pump gas (93 octane) and the help of methanol/water injection. In other words, I don't want to run race gas.