Supra Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· FTG & the IRL!
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to my '92 Supra Turbo(just bought it last Sunday) and new to this forum. The car is in good shape but needs some attention, the A/C blower motor being one of the items to fix. The heater and a/c controls all seem to function normally other than the fan does not come on when the low button is selected, the low button does light up however. Medium and high fan settings work, so I'm a bit puzzled what is going on. I haven't had much time to look into this problem yet but this forum looks like a good place to start asking questions. I also sometimes hear what sounds like a relay clicking on and off quickly for a short period of time, sounding kind of like a coffee maker brewing. I know this isn't air bubbles in the cooling system because it will do it randomly when the ignition swith is turned to the on position but not starting the car. I had an '81 Supra several years back that would make the exact same noise and the heater wouldn't put out warm air. It turned out to be the temperature rheostat on it being bad and making intermitent contact, which would make the relay controling the air flap door think the temperature selector was being moved from cold to hot position. My '92's heater will warm up and keep a consistent temperature and everything else seems to work okay. Any ideas?

· FTG & the IRL!
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Harold! I saw that post earlier and pulled the heater resistor . . bingo, a broken wire on the small coil! I love forums like this with such a wealth of knowledge, sharing a common interest - love for Supras! I've had several Toyotas(the only brand I've owned), this being my second Supra, so I'm no stranger to Toyotas. I'm looking forward to wrenching on my Supra, bringing it back to a pristine state!

· Señor Member
5,246 Posts

· *I see you*
733 Posts