Supra Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
498 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I noticed my Supra has a small leak from the oil pan drain plug. I changed my oil yesterday and the threads are stripped on the pan. The bolt will begin to tighten, then slip. Not good at all.

I read a similar thread below. Do I really re-thread the hole with a tap? I thought I should chase the thread with a thread-chaser but am confused now:

http://www.supraforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=19791

Can I do this on the car, or is there a huge risk of metal-shavings being left behind? If this is a questionable repair then I would just install a new oil pan. I would also be repairing this on ramps since I have no access to a lift...

I am not very experienced with this kind of problem so any help/advice is appreciated. Thanks..

·
Super Moderator
10,243 Posts
Whether or not it can be cleaned up with a tap (aka thread-chaser) depends a lot on how much it's been stripped. The more times you try to tighten it down only to get to that 'stripping' threshold, the more damage there is to the threads and the less likely a tap can fix it up.

There is also the concern about metal shavings. While it's never good to have metal shavings in the oil, the bottom of the oil pan is probably the safest spot.

If you opt to try cleaning it up with a tap, I'd also recommend getting a magnetic drain plug to help isolate the metal shavings there and reduce the chance of them getting sucked into the oil pump.