Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm new to Supras, other than the ones I saw and drove when I was in Japan in the early 90s. But that was ages ago. Anyhoo, I'm here in Idaho and was helping a friend go through old things, pricing them, when we walk past a 1986 Supra Mk III sitting in the field. He told me that's up for grabs as well. Now, I've helped my dad restore a few old cars in my time and I currently rebuild motorcycles as a hobby.

I've been reading these forums, looking for parts, and gathering info before I go grab this thing. My plan is a full rebuild, as it's all original- pull engine repaint, all that jazz. I don't plan on an engine swap. I do plan on rebuilding the engine whether it runs or not as it's been sitting, it's old, and needs all new rubber and gaskets (especially that head gasket I read so much about).

I'm not so much asking if it's worth it, as any old car is only worth it to the owner. Is my understanding correct that the exterior 2-tone with tan interior is harder to find? I'm not a fan of the tan, but if it's better to keep it that way vs going with a color change, then I will.

Other than rust in the spare tire area and wheel wells, what else should I look for specifically on these cars body?

Interior-wise is my largest concern as I've done plenty of engine work and body work, but finding interior components seems to be the hardest thing. I've found carpet suppliers, have a good upholsterer, and gauge face replacements, but I haven't seen an aftermarket dash to swap out, as the one that is in it is completely shot. There's no cutting up the thing to patch and repaint. Shifter and e-brake boots?

I know, I've read through a few of these "gonna buy a Mk III" threads, and I only have a few photos (cuz a post is worthless without them!). I may go back just to get more info on the car. Thanks for any insight.