Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Well, I went out to one of the car meets in town this evening and met up with some friends. Me and a 11 sec. cobra ended up racing down the interstate. We started off at 40 and I speed shifted at 6500~6600 to 3rd. To my dismay I missed third, and revved to 7500ish then I still tried to catch him and I speed shifted to 4th and......... I missed again, and over revved again! So at this point I'm dissapointed in myself and we line up again now going 40~50mph. We take off and I pull him but as I'm pulling ahead I hear a strange sound coming from one of our cars, so I let off and the noise went away. I took the next exit and stopped at a gas station, popped the hood and oped the TB up a couple of times. At about 1700 and up I hear what sounds like valves lightly tapping the piston, or maybe detonation. I've never heard either these sounds before, because I'm still new to the world of racing. My friend says it sounds like detonation, I'm still not convinced thats what it is b/c hes not mechanically inclined. Can any of you guys shed some light on what these two things are supposed to sound like so I can start narrowing things down a bit. thanks

Mods are in the profile.

BTW- The timing still looks on (looking at the gears) so I don't think it jumped a tooth or anything, but I'll hit it with the timing light just to make sure.

·
gt35/40?
446 Posts
i have misshifted too except i went to 9,000 rpms, the motor is still fine.... no big problems, just dont speedshift itll cause more problems. I learned from my mistake.... my snap ring came off the throwout bearing on the misshift and i had to drop the tranny and replace it. Now everything is fine. I think with such a low misshift you should be fine

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #3