Supra Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Republican
8,421 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After MANY people have said "dont replace your factory o2 sensor with the PLX's simulated narrowband output, cause the narowband simulated is liniar" I decided to test if what these so called experts said was true. Hooked up my PLX and logged the narrowband output on my Apex Power FC. At 14.7 the voltage was ~.40 (right where it should be) at ~15.7 the voltage was ~.05 (right where it should be)

SOOOOOOO

YOU CAN replace the stock sensor with the PLX's and run fine. I have been running it for about 6 months now and never noticed a difference. But I proved it today.

:bigthumb:

·
Search
3,305 Posts
isn't it bad for the wideband o2 to be so close to the heat? don't the instructions say not to place it so close?

·
boost freak
10,042 Posts
eh, i still wonder if the PLX has the non-linear 1V output. see the graph here:

http://www.wbo2.com/2a0/2a0info.htm

i'd certainly hope so, but i'm not going to go reasearch it. even if the output is linear, it will still work, just not as well as it should since the ECU has been tuned to expect the non-linear 1V.....

·
Republican
8,421 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
As I mentioned in the first post, the output is NOT liniar. although I cant graph the output of it currently, simply seeing the voltage output change as the sensor warms up is enough for me. when the sensor is cold it reads 14.7 as it warms up it slowly goes to full lean (since the engine isnt running) voltage drops off like crazy after it leaves 14.7. although i do not have a specific graph to refer to, I can promise you the output is FAR from liniar.

This wideband will work perfectly if you want to replace your factory narowband sensor (due to old age, or contamination)

·
Registered
2,148 Posts
get a techedge and your guaranteed to have a compatible narrowband output. You can log the stock o2 sensor and then reprogram the narrowband output curve to that.