Supra Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well in short I am a newb here on SF, but am not new to turbo charged vehicles due to owning a 91 Stealth RT TT and a 93 3000GT VR-4. Here as of lately I have been experiancing some issues with my Supra. When I am accelerating with moderate pressure on the gas pedal, the car will act as if I am trying to pull another vehicle behind me and a few moments later BAM..the boost hits. It kinda also feels like I deployed a parachute behind me and am getting huge resistance when trying to accelerate. Anywho, another issue that has eemed to arise is I have a jumpy idle. Not real high or to low of an idle..just jumpy at times.

I have searched..well lets say tried to search for a procedure on how to pressure test the vacuum lines and all that good jazz. I am hoping I have a small leak somewheres and that will be a cure all for my sysmptoms. The search function here on SF has been kinda iffy as of lately. I did find a post the other day where a soup can was utilized, but since due to search issues have not been able to recover the thread. I have also picked up a CEL which is pointing to the o2's...dont know if that would have a signifigant reason for the car to act like it does, but thought I would throw that out there. It looks like pressure testing on the MKIV's is a little bit more elaborate vs. the 3/S's cars, as to where we can do a vacuum line reduction mod (leaving only 4 lines) and being able to test the entire system to include IC piping in just a few minutes.

I feel reluctant to post this thread, Iam sure this issue has been beat to death over the years, but if I can t utilize the search function I'm kinda at a stand still. I have today off and would like to use it to narrow down these issues with my Supra.

How do you pressure test a MKIV TT BPU, utilizing the stock twins? (Pictures would be very helpful)

1994 MKIV TT (Auto)