Supra Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, so im installing gauges in my 97 TT, and this is my first time. I found a handy write up (https://www.supraforums.com/threads/gauges-wb-made-easy-writeup-included.521301/) using a relay and terminal. I liked this because it allowed me to manage things better than tapping my radio, clock, and the cig lighter. Im just a tad confused on how to get direct power from the battery to power the relay. Do I have to tap my wiring harness? I saw these battery terminals where I can run an 8 gauge wire from it and connect it to my relay. And then, from the relay, I run to ground, 12v switch from add a fuse, and 12v switch power to the terminal. Or am I getting this whole thing wrong and am I not supposed to run direct power from the battery to the fuse.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If it's just for gauges you don't need 8ga. You'll be fine with 12-16 on a ring terminal.
And just connect the ring terminal to the battery clamp? I feel like it would look cleaner with a new battery terminal and run a large gauge wire. Unless you just can't run 8 gauge.

·
Master Shit Fixer
3,233 Posts
For gauges, since they are low amp devices, just power them from the add-a-fuse, and put the add-a-fuse on one of the fuses in the interior driver's kick panel fuse box. You don't need to run more heavy wire from the battery, and you don't need another relay.

How many gauges are you installing?

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
For gauges, since they are low amp devices, just power them from the add-a-fuse, and put the add-a-fuse on one of the fuses in the interior driver's kick panel fuse box. You don't need to run more heavy wire from the battery, and you don't need another relay.