Supra Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Will work for Supra parts
624 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still very new to the world of Supras, and while surfing Powerhouse Racing's website I took a look under their clutch and transmission page only to find a PPG High Performance Gear Set for Getrag six speed available. I read with more interest and suddenly I realized this gear set allows clutchless upshifts! Man, that's cool. I've heard of straight cut gears before and I know they can be shifted without clutching, but I never thought such a thing would be available for a street car.

Has anybody ever purchased one of these transmissions? How's it drive? I've never had the chance to see something like this before, but you hear about them on a lot of race cars. Would I be correct in assuming these would not be that great for running on the street? Without synchronizers, these must take some getting used to and a lot of rev matching. What do you guys think? Does anyone here actually own a transmission like this? When shifting, do you simply let of the throttle altogether briefly enough to grab the next gear, or do you back off slightly to drop the rpms down to the point where the next gear would engage?

Must be a bit similar to driving a semi tractor? From a dead stop, you must need to let the gears spin down to a stop, and downshifts must require some skill or double clutching?

Even if it might be impracticle for street use, I'm just really interested to learn more about the technique required to use one sucessfully.

·
Registered
226 Posts
Your best bet to find more info on this would be to contact Obiwan at PHR directly. I know Jeff Watson has a set of these in his Supra but haven't heard of anyone else with them.

·
1400rwhp/8 Sec Club
2,831 Posts
I thought that was a awesome idea and "damn, i should of done that." Until i saw the $7,600 price tag! Man, you could go through 3 getrags for that!

·
Driver Down
1,991 Posts