Supra Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
SP61GT Powered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How strong are the mkiv rear ends, and what are these 800 to 1000hp+ guys running?
The reason i ask is because i trashed mine on my is300 and i would like to get one off a supra or a lexus gs400/430 because they are alot stronger and the gearing is better.

I would have posted a WTB ad but for some reason i guesse i dont have permission to post under that section. maybe becuase im still a newbie as far as how many post i have made. either way if any one knows where i could get one please PM me
thanks
-Arron

·
Registered
907 Posts
If you trashed your is300 rear, why not just upgrade to a TRD unit? the auto TRD unit will fit in there and it will be VERY strong. That is what most high hp guys are running. Many of them are still on the stock rear as well. The 6 speed rear end is hard to come by and its a bit stronger than the auto rear. The auto rear has 3.76 gearing, 6 speed rear has 3.13 gearing, and the N/A rear has 4.27 gearing. Pick and choose between them. If you go for the 6 speed rear, you will need the driver side axle and the rear half of the driveshaft (different for six speeds). If you go with the auto rear (my recommenddaion for you) It will bolt right up and be great :) Good luck hope this helped.

-Mike

·
SP61GT Powered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks for the info! when you say the trd unit arnt you talking about the lsd? i need the gearing ect. I broke the acctual gearing inside the differental housing.

·
SP61GT Powered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
not sure. I took it to lexus and there were going to warranty it out for me (supprisingly) until one of the guys from the dealership remembered seeing my car at the local track. Any ways lexus told me i destroyed one of the gears. The rear end had lots of play in it. i could grab the shaft and turn it about half a turn! so now im looking for a good rear end and a good lsd like kazz of trd.

·
SP61GT Powered