Supra Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
689 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Need some advice

I pulled my pistons out today and i'm almost down to the bare block. It turns out that I spun 2 bearings, one on the second and one on the fourth connecting rod. These rods are black because i assumed they burned oil on themselves due to the friction. Also i suspect my crank to be somewhat warped, it is easy to turn at some points but then tightens up at others.

I plan on just doing a reliable stock rebuild, after my build is done I dont dont plan on doing any crazy numbers, just a quick reliable car i can enjoy for a while. I will have CT-26 with 57 trim, BIC downpipe, cosmetic hg, nothing too serious.

Whats the next step? What are my best options? Would I be better off buying used connecting rods and crank? Should i take it to a machine shop and see if they can salvage my rods? I'm new to being this deep in the engine... why is drjonez never on AIM when you need him? If anyone is in Detroit downriver area whats a good engine machine shop?

·
SUPRAF0RUMS TROLL
1,610 Posts
yea.... just buy a jdm engine lol... reliable stock engines that you can just rip off the head with and pop on a new HG

·
Registered
259 Posts
BrokenSupra said:
yea.... just buy a jdm engine lol... reliable stock engines that you can just rip off the head with and pop on a new HG
ya thats a good idea... go with an engine thats been sitting on a shelf in the rain for the past 6 to 10 years. Before that being abused to who knows what extent...

i"m sure someone can give you better advice than to scrap the entire engine and buy a used (maybe crappier) engine to repair only one defect.

·
Registered
149 Posts
the colours you see are burned metal. when metal turns black it has been to its second hotest point, after black is silver. this is how hot your crank got while under load from the turned bearing..lol mine was blue, black, and silver. lol.

·
Stock Boost SUX
1,660 Posts