Supra Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Always Furious. Now Fast.
447 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone replaced their own clutch? I am a pretty good mechanic, but it seems like a daunting task. In particular getting at the upper housing bolts seems like a knuckle buster. Looks like the kinda job better done by a pro...

I ordered a stage 3 clutch and pressure plate (for my 5 speed). Any idea what a shop would charge to replace the clutch?

What about resurfacing the flywheel if necessary?

·
slow ex-supra guy
134 Posts
It's not that hard. If you drop the rear of the tranny slightly you'll have much better access to the 'knuckle busters'. Time consuming, yes. Hard, not too bad.

·
King of the NA-T's
4,044 Posts
As long as you got a couple floor jacks, and a bunch of socket extensions it isn't so bad. The hardest part is getting the tranny back on aligning the splines in the clutch disk with the splines on the input shaft. Lowering the tail of the tranny works real well (like john said) for getting at those upper bolts. It's time consuming but not real tough.

·
Registered
407 Posts
I just replaced mine about 2 months ago. It was a bitch of a job, and I was using a freind's lift. You have to be a little creative to get at the top bolts on the tranny. My car is pretty clean on the bottom, no rust or anything but there were a few bolts that were VERY tight, especially the ones holding the starter in. I twisted a 3/8 socket and long extension around about a 1/2 turn! (I always try a smaller wrench first, keeps me from beaking the bolts off). Tried a 3/4" impact wrench and they didn't budge. Finally 3/4" breaker bar did the trick, but I was sure I had brocken the bolt when it went. Luckily it didn't. I honestly don't know if I could have done it with the car on jack stands, but obviously some have. Either way, I am sure a lift will save you time and probably a back ache.

P.S. Be sure and put some anti-seize on those bolts while they are out!

·
A Mile High
114 Posts