Supra Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
827 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys, I am relatively new to the 6-speed world (an auto convert) and I need to get some feedback on what I'm experiencing. First, here are some basic details about my car:

93 6-speed
74,000 miles
stock twin in TTC

I just put in a brand new HPF clutch (ACT HD PP with stock flywheel). I've put approximately 1,000 miles on it, so the break-in period is over. Clutch is great so far.

On to my question: When I'm casually shifting gears everything sounds fine (although a little harsher engagement with the 6-puck disk when I don't get it quite right). When I "get on it" and I'm shifting relatively fast to avoid blowing off all my boost, when I let the clutch out and nail the gas again the drivetrain goes something like "BAM" and the car jolts upon engagement. Do I just suck at shifting (timing the engagement with the gas pedal) or is something wrong? I know that it is common for our cars to have the "thunk" sound in the rear end when shifting fast/hard; perhaps this is what I'm hearing but it's amplified since I have a clutch that is "grabbier"? I did get the thunk on my stock clutch too, but not so loud.

Give me the low-down on what is normal please.

TIA

·
Registered
827 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Nobody has an upgraded clutch huh? Looking for a little feedback here please.

·
I rock like CRACK
1,010 Posts
No as a matter of fact it is not common to have a "thunk" sound when shifting hard. The noise you are hearing is prolly hard wheelhop or you could have damaged the diff. Either way try to avoid the thunk sound.

·
Registered
827 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm pretty sure you're incorrect on the "thunk". I've had numerous, very reliable sources say it's normal.

S

·
0 Posts