Supra Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am swapping a 7MGE into my project and was in the process of resealing the engine. I’m new to engine reseal/rebuild. I encountered a slight abrasiveness on the cylinder walls in a couple spots (the parts car has been sitting for about 3 years). I know it would be good to go ahead and hone it and get new rings and bearings, BUT can I get away with not doing it? The head gasket was not blown and I had a mechanic look at the bottom end and said it looked good after removing a rod and main cap. He went to Hawaii before I removed the head. The guy I bought it from said it ran when they parked it.
I’m hoping to daily it for the next couple years while I build a GTE on a stand, but I don’t know how bad is bad when it comes to these things. Images attached.

·
Registered
548 Posts
So the spots themselves look handle-able with a hone, but whomever went at the cylinder wall with a wire brush didn't do you any favors. You should hone and re-ring that and you'll be fine. No need to touch the bearings, and rings are about $35 for a full set. It's a nice learning opportunity and you'll have excellent compression and power. How do the valves look?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the quick reply! Valves look ok from what I’m told by the professionals but I’m going to get new seals and inspect them using the TSRM so see if they need adjusting. The bearings were the only thing I was dreading, so that would be nice to avoid them.

·
Registered
548 Posts