Supra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
433 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tried searching but everytime i put something in i get a blank screen. Ive been getting mixed info on what the answer is so im just gonna post it.Im still new to Auto just recently got rid of my 6-speed so dunno everything about it yet but... Im going BPU next week and was wondering how much power can the stock tranny hold? I don't plan on going anything higher then bpu for atleast 2-3 years so i just wanna make sure it will hold good at bpu levels. Car has 55k miles on it and was very well maintained.

Basic Bpu- DP/Intake/Exhaust/BCC/MBC pushing 14psi Max. Perhaps a FMIC in a year or so.

·
Banned
2,132 Posts
Mine did not... its luck of the draw

then again i was running high 11s on a stock toyo trans with a high stall

realistically, it will take about 450rwhp on a stock stall, and depending on the type of aftermarket converter, significantly less

also, things like AEM and pulling the trac fuse shorten the life of the trans

·
Registered
433 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Ya im leaving the Trac fuse in unless i ever take it to the track. Its my daily so Ill rarely ever Take it to the track or Launch it from a stop. Mainly just wanna have fun with highway pulls with it without having to worry it will suddenly break.

I plan on leaving the tranny alone Aside from a fan and cooler. Stock converter and everything.

·
Banned
2,132 Posts
having fun on the highway is very dangerous.... i opt against it
Highway pulls are actually the most likely to blow your trans... if you stay on the throttle for too long, it will heat up. If you do 2 or more consecutive highway pulls, your chances of blowing the trans grow exponentially

if you want to extend the life, i suggest a transmission cooler w/use of the stock cooler as well as wiring the aux fan on

·
iSketch Master!
9,044 Posts