Supra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have done some rough street tuning on my setup and everything is running pretty good but I feel there is a lot of room for improvement. I would appreciate it if anyone is willing to share their timing maps with me so I can compare.

My setup is:
2JZGTE Stock Block
Precision 6765
Sard 800CC Injectors
Full 3 inch exhaust

·
Premium Member
11,269 Posts
First off, your timing map is flat from 4500 to redline, you want to add timing as rpm goes up. Add 3 degrees at redline and interpolated across. Also at 17 psi you can run more than 13 degrees. I usually have 15 at peak torque and 18 at redline for a safe street car.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yeah I know, this is my first attempt at tuning and I really want to learn more about it. From starting from scratch and how the car is driving now I feel like I am getting the gist of it, my afrs are spot on, and no kncok. Only thing I am really careful about is timing because that is where the most power is made and you are most likely to blow up the motor if set wrong.

Thanks for your comments and advice!

·
Registered
296 Posts
Oh and 34 at idle ??
x2 I dont know what your Idle Ignition trims look like but 34-35 degrees of timing at idle is extremely aggressive. I would almost bet your exhaust manifold is getting extremely hot if not red at idle.
At 35 degrees you are making the plug ignite and make the combustion happen way past the optimal 12-15degrees ATDC. I would advise to run anywhere from 10-15degrees from 500rpm-1500 and ramp up the timing into the low-mid 30s in the crusing part till redline or peak torque if you know where that is on your motor.
Remember timing increases as RPM goes up because there is less time to make the combustion occur before the next cycle begins again. Timing should increase with RPM and decrease with Load.