Supra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

· Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a friend who is talking of fitting a supercharger on his MKIV TT that has already undergone a single turbo conversion. His theory is that the supercharger will allow max boost to be produced instantly by the supercharger before allowing the turbo to take over. Unfortunately, I am not that technically minded and therefore that brief description may sound preety dumb but that was how I understood it.

My question is, does thsi sound a feasible project? If so, what do you think of the idea? Isn't it the perfect amswer to the lag issues we single turbo converts face?

BTW, please be gentle and dont hit too hard - as I say, I am not a technical genious :)

· Premium Member
13,395 Posts
You're talking about a Roots-style blower. No thanks. They run out of breath on the top end. Totally different type of experience. I prefer the way the Supra's powerband is setup.

You can eliminate lag with a properly sized turbo.

· Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
quick said:
You're talking about a Roots-style blower. No thanks. They run out of breath on the top end. Totally different type of experience. I prefer the way the Supra's powerband is setup.

I think my description may have been a bit sketchy. What he is hoping to do is to have the Supercharger work from rev 1 (or as low as poss) and use that up to x revs before the single turbo then kicks in.

He is looking at using the set up for drag use so that he gets immediate power from the first push of the throttle thereby eliminating the need to hig rev it to launch. He is hoping that will give him a much better launch as there will not be the wheelspin associated with high revs.

Does that make sense? :dunno:

· Registered
3,665 Posts
quick said: