Supra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do any of you Targa Top guys have any squeek or rattling that occurs while normal driving? When hitting speedbumps? Just wondering. I test drove a 6-Speed TT w/ Targa Tops the other day and was inquiring about purchasing perhaps. It's my first time in a Targa Top car and I took notice to the noise coming from the top. It wasn't really "annoying" but it was noticable and probably had potential to be a little annoying. Anyones cabin pretty quiet? Again this is the first time driving a TT 6-speed before. The power was great, ride was smooth except for the noise from the top. Any input would be great.

·
Registered
18 Posts
My '94 TT squeaks a lot especially on rough patches in the road and over driveway approaches. I followed the tightening instructions in the Toyota Owners Manual but still squeaks. I am concerned that I will strip the fasteners if I torque down any more. Anybody got a fix?

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The Targa Top is definitely nice to have cruising with the wind and has its benefits of leisure but when driving with the tops on I don't know if this is normal or not? Is it curable? I don't know if i'd buy a car with the squeeks up top without a fix if there isn't one. I'd like to listen to music with a nice quality system in it without the squeeks, creeps, and the bleeps. ;)

·
Registered
4,219 Posts
this just could be my dumb ass, but that happened to me alot until i found out there's actually a real way to put the targa on. I used to hear a knockin sound after going over bumps etc. anways i do the front left the rear right middle, the left rear and the front right and no more probs with noise leaking etc. :)

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·