Supra Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,483 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I've been pondering the thought of getting a motorcylce, my friend was trying to sell me his 01 R6 (which I've riden), but frankly, I'm just too much of a pussy (and I'm new to road motorcycles) to have jap sport bike....... afraid of getting killed.

Recently Ive been seeing a couple of Super moto bikes on the road and I think they would be a blast to have in NYC, and it would keep me fom going over 100 mph. I think it would be a decent starter bike for the road, as I've riden dirt bikes alot.

Can anyone enlighten me on the super moto type bikes? I saw a Suzuki DRZ400 up close and I thought it looked great. How fast can these types of bikes go? I'd imagine they are, or can be made, street legal.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
1,793 Posts
Haha, you've come to the right place.

I'll put the cliffs up front: Supermoto is a blast, I love my DRZ and I'm never getting rid of it! :bigthumb:

Now, I'll list the complaints first. the biggest complaint is no sixth gear. No way around that. It sucks, but not may other dirtbikes have a sixth or even a fifth gear, so oh well, just stay off the highway for extended trips. Second, the stock seat is pretty stiff for longer rides. I got mine re-padded for $50. Much better. Third, in stock form, it is a heavy beast by dirtbike standards, but then again it is fully street legal, has electric start, a real subframe, passenger pegs, etc.

Now for the good stuff:

-It is retarded amounts of fun. Even traffic is fun on this thing. It is super-agile and you can beat the piss out of it on the street without quickly finding yourself well over 100mph.

-It squirts off the line fast. I can't recall, but I believe a stock "S" will get to 60mph in about four and a half seconds. Modified ones are quicker, of course.