Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
LEADED FUEL ONLY
2,068 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know who holds the tighter piston to cylidner wall clearance. I'm looking for a forged piston with minimal slap problems at cold startup.

·
///M3 > MKIII
2,302 Posts
al

You might wanna get in touch with Jt from MAXX autoworks... he has done alot of 7m's using both brand pistons... think he generally recommends Ross. I remember reading a couple posts on piston slap with the JE's.. also someone commented on the slap in the product review on suprasport.

MAXX's # is (253) 661-0118

·
what will the future hold
916 Posts
I have been using wiseco pistons for two years now. My car has absolutely no piston slap. I think that a thing of the past. It once was a deal with silicon content but thats long gone. Just get a set of pistons you like and run.

Will

·
Turbonetics..faggot asses
1,062 Posts
I've got JE's in mine and mine is quiet as hell, no knock , no slap, just a nice "mmmmmmmmmmmmm"

·
Registered
1,618 Posts
I have JEs and I can hear it make some noise when cold. I set clearance to JEs recommendation of 4 thou measured half an inch up from the bottom of the skirt. After a minute or so, no noise at all.

·
i <3 fitness chicks
1,585 Posts
I'm not sure on clearances, but i would not go with the JE pistons anyway. I am having my block rebuilt with Ross .017 over forged pistons, and my guy was telling me that JE's are a no. Where the 4 grooves are, the area between the grooves and the actual end of the piston is quite small, so it is likely to crack there. Genna had JE's and his pistons cracked right there. Ross or Wiseco's are the way to go, he told me. Hope that helps you somewhat, but i would stay away from the JE's.

- John

Edit - IF you do decide to go with the Ross pistons, check this place out. $520 shipped for mine and they came with rings and pins.

http://www.importperformanceparts.net/

·
Registered
318 Posts
Alan,