Supra Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm replacing my engine in my 94 TT and everything went smooth until we were taking the engine out we noticed that we were not able to turn the flex plate. We cont. to pull the engine and trans out and now are back to separating the engine and trans. I thought for sure I would be able to use extra large breaker bar (5 ft steel bar) to move the crank but it wont budge. I will take any advice I can get. I am a working mechanic so I have tons of tools and have access to anything.
So what do I do to get to all the bolts connecting the flex plate to the tq converter if your engine is locked up? I know Im not the first to experience this issue?

--Update after some more research I have come up with removing all the housing bolts and try to pull the bell housing off w/ the tq converter still connected. If this works then I should be able to use a long 17mm wrench to remove the flex plate bolts----

·
Blood for Blood
8,321 Posts
Ok spooldoc from what I have read in your thread here you have a 94 TT Auto .. so thats a 2jz-gte with an a340 auto trans.

Sounds like your trans in in Park... Why dont you take the bolts out of the TQ with the trans in N so you can spin it... then take the bolts off the trans to the motor and it will come apart... then you can turn the motor very easy with a 22m socket and a ratchet or bar...

http://www.97supraturbo.com/Tech.html

^ here download and read... it shows just how to do this...

·
Registered
790 Posts
The torque converter should spin regardless of whether its in park or reverse or drive, your problem is with something else on the engine side most likely. Why are you replacing youe engine?

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·