Supra Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just installed the TRD twin disc clutch, came with new LW flywheel.
I used all new FW bolts, pilot bearing, and throw out bearings with snap rings.

It goes through all six gears fine, but at idle, it make a loud clanking noise.
When i push the clutch pedal to the floor, it goes away. The noise is LOUD like the tranny going to blow at a red light. It does not make a squealing noise either. Could it be the throw out bearing?

·
Registered
3,688 Posts
If it sounds like a can of rocks. Its completely normal. Only way to hide it is to raise the idle or go back to a stock flywheel clutch setup.

·
Highway Demon
2,897 Posts
welcome to twin disk and lw flywheel noises.. i have been hearing this from my car for the past 4 years i beleive.. absolutly normal.. raise the idle to 1k and it will be better but on cold starts it will always sound like shit before it warms up.. enjoy the driving experience though.. i feel it is a even trade.. annoying noise for the way my car drives.. i love it..

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
But... it makes really really loud noise in Neutrul. I don't even want to let the clutch pedal out at the red light. If I do, people will start looking at me like wow thats a nice supra but it sounds like shiet. WTF. One time the car was kinda shaking at idle. but when i press down the clutch it goes away. any other ideas?

·
Registered
1,098 Posts
NooBSupra said:
But... it makes really really loud noise in Neutrul. I don't even want to let the clutch pedal out at the red light. If I do, people will start looking at me like wow thats a nice supra but it sounds like shiet. WTF. One time the car was kinda shaking at idle. but when i press down the clutch it goes away. any other ideas?
That's one of the downfalls of the twin disk and lightened flywheel there isn't much you can do about it short of changing it.

·
Alpine Hardtopper
1,096 Posts