Supra Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
88 MKIII - 7M-GE
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all - been a while (work's kept me busy)

Been prepping to start a 1jz swap in kids car. (thanks inflation btw for driving the price on the engine up a grand in the last 6 months)

Anyway, was hoping to get started over Xmas, then over the last 2 weeks, car started doing this:

engine noise

Anybody have any ideas? I was thinking lifters, but I'm a novice at this stuff. I'm better inside the car / electric / suspension. Engines aren't really my thing. (yeah, yeah - good luck with the swap, I get it..)

I need like 3 more weeks out of the 7M...

·
Registered
446 Posts
This could be the lifters as you mentioned, valves, or rod knock. Either way, you need to open up and check. Check the tightness on lifters and make sure they're to spec. How is compression?

·
Registered
88 MKIII - 7M-GE
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I'm in the dallas area. Thinking this is just going to accelerate the 1JZ - doesn't seem to make sense to pour money into the 7m. Its not even turbo.

·
Registered
1,947 Posts
Agree. But stop driving it as it's going to trash parts. Sounds like it's just getting going now, so perhaps not worn through the expensive bits yet. I asked, as if you were close I'd buy the damaged engine, but I'm in Idaho. Though I do get to Dallas once in a while....heh.

·
Registered
2,340 Posts
My rod knock didn't sound bad, but I had spun at least two bearings, it was beyond toast. Any of the old timers against sticking a thicker oil in there to get the car through the next few weeks until the swap can commence?