Supra Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gents,

I am getting a ticking noise and rubbing noise coming from the engine. The first 10 seconds are with the accessory belt in place and the second half of the video is with the accessory belt removed to isolate the ticking noise. Any ideas? I am new to the Supra platform and I understand some ticking is normal but this seems loud. Engine just hit 100K.

Thanks.

J

·
Registered
613 Posts
Find a long screwdriver, stick the handle against your head above your temple, and probe around with the other end on different parts of the motor. Isolate the location of whatever it is, because it just sounds like an engine running from the video.
If it seems louder without the accessories spinning, maybe the valves need lashed.
Any other info on the motor history? Likely nothing.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Find a long screwdriver, stick the handle against your head above your temple, and probe around with the other end on different parts of the motor. Isolate the location of whatever it is, because it just sounds like an engine running from the video.
If it seems louder without the accessories spinning, maybe the valves need lashed.
I've seen that on YouTube but I've never tried the screwdriver against the temple trick. I'll give it a shot.

I'll look into the valves being lashed. Hopefully it is nothing but I would rather take care of anything that needs to get done now during the winter if I can. Thanks for the reply.

·
Registered
89 Turbo - 2JZGE-T VVti (build/swap in progress)
105 Posts
I also suggest getting a rubber/nylon tube (like vacuum line), putting one end to your ear, and holding it close to the injectors to see if it's just injector tick you're hearing.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #5