Supra Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts
M

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Toyota said the reason my car was shuting off was because my "thrust pilot bearing" was in my oil pan ????? what the hell is that??? and they have had my car for like a month and a 1/2 . does anyone know what exactly there trying to say???

M

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
That sounds strange but it could be true. If the crankshaft trust bearing is worn or broken it allows the crankshaft to move back and forth in the block. When that happens the reluctor wheel on the crank is out of line with the crank sensor. When that happens it will stop ignition and injector pulse. I am a GM mechanic and have seen it a few times on the 3.4 engine, also usually happens more with a manual trans. Hope that this helps you!

·
1,522 Posts
A month and a half. Damn, I could have put in a new engine and power train in and out about 3 times in that amount of time. I think they are just keeping your car there so they can take it for joy rides.

·
SF.com Member #0000000023
1,219 Posts
The thrust bearing sits between the crank and the block. They prevent them from coming into contact with each other. I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but the bottom line is your shortblock has to come out. To make things worse, this type of failure often means your crank and block are not reuseable as the crank starts grinding itself into the block & main bearing caps.

This type of failure is extremely uncommon for a Supra, you might want to consider a second opinion. BTW, did yuo happen to have either a lightened flywheel and/or underdrive crank pulley?

-Mike

MM97TT said:
Toyota said the reason my car was shuting off was because my "thrust pilot bearing" was in my oil pan ????? what the hell is that??? and they have had my car for like a month and a 1/2 . does anyone know what exactly there trying to say???

M

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5